Our Hapū include Marangatūhetaua (also known as Ngāti Tū), Ngāti WhakaariNgāi TauiraNgāti Kurumōkihi (formerly known as Ngāi Tatara), Ngāi Te Ruruku (ki Tangoio) and Ngāi Tahu.  

Our takiwā (traditional area) encompasses Keteketerau (the former outlet of Te Whanganui-ā-Orotu) in the south, to the Waitaha River in the north and from the Maungaharuru Range in the west to the coast and beyond to Tangitū (the sea) in the east.

Our Hapū are tāngata whenua within our takiwā. We have held, and continue to hold, ahi-kā-roa (long occupation) since the original inhabitants first settled the land.  Even in the era of the musket, the invasion by surrounding iwi and the exodus of many Ngāti Kahungunu hapū to Te Māhia, there were Hapū whānau who remained on the land.

Today, our Marae is located at Tangoio.

Some parts of the takiwā towards Te Whanganui-ā-Orotu in the south are shared with a closely related, neighbouring hapū based at Petane. Similarly, in the area bordering the Waikari River and northwards to the Waitaha Stream, the takiwā is shared among the descendants of Te Keu-o-te-rangi (see the kōrero about Ngāi Tahu).


The origins of today’s Hapū came from the following early groups of people within the takiwā –

Ngāti Whatumamoa: the descendants of the explorer chief Mahu Tapoanui. Mahu’s direct descendant Te Orotu established his people permanently at Ahuriri;

Ngāti Awa: the descendants of the explorer Toi Kairakau (also known as Toi Te Huatahi). Toi established his southernmost pā (fortified village) at the head of the Tangoio valley; and 

Ngāi Tahu: the descendants of Te Keu-o-te-rangi originally inhabited the lands bordering the Waikari River.


Follow the links below to find out more about each of our Hapū:

Marangatūhetaua (also known as Ngāti Tū)

Ngāti Whakaari

Ngāi Tauira

Ngāti Kurumōkihi (formerly known as Ngāi Tatara)

Ngāi Te Ruruku (ki Tangoio)

Ngāi Tahu